Baby A's

A small glimpse into our lives

Harley Love and Other Adventures September 13, 2009

Filed under: Uncategorized — jjribble @ 12:23 AM

Well, it finally happened! Atticus rode his little red Harley for the first time today! His birthday was in April and because his Daddy just couldn’t stand it, he had to buy him his very own Harley Davidson. I guess I should back up a little and give you the history of our family and the legendary love for Harley Davidson.

Ridin' the Harley

Ridin' the Harley

After we moved into our house last summer, Jesse began looking at motorcycles to buy. I guess I shouldn’t say “looking at” but, obsessively searching the internet for hours at a time. Around October, I think, he found one and we set off to check it out. When we both saw it for the first time, it was love at first sight. I was pregnant at the time and so jealous that I couldn’t even think of riding it! Those of you that know Jesse know that the bike could be nothing less than a Harley. He is a purist through and through and his inner bad boy absolutely lusted over that bike. After many discussions, I told him to just get the bike because he would never be happy until he did! He went for it and became the proud owner of a ’79 Shovelhead.

It didn’t take long for him to begin showing Atticus the ins and outs of motorcycling and the respect and love one has for a Harley Davidson. The deal was cinched even further when a couple of months later Grandpa Mike also purchased a Harley. Atticus loved the bike from afar considering that for the first two months he would nearly crap himself every time the loud rumbling engine was started. It would shake his bedroom floor when it was inside the garage…it was great! Many a father-son outing have been to the Harley store and I swear they can’t leave there without Jesse buying some sort of Harley gear for Atticus. I guess that’s what Dad’s are for…right?

As Atticus’ birthday rolled around, Jesse would talk endlessly about buying him a power wheels Harley. After much searching and some initial drama over receiving a bike with missing parts, the bike was assembled and ready to go for his second birthday. There was so much excitement and so many things going on at the party that the bike was not given it’s proper attention. However, true to form, Jesse took him out the next day to learn to ride. Now seriously, this little bike has some power and there is an initial kick upon starting. The first time Atticus tried this he nearly peed himself and was absolutely terrified. That was enough for him, he wouldn’t even touch it! Over the next few months his cousins, the neighbor, and I think maybe even Jesse…just kidding…rode the bike!

However, that all changed today. Out of nowhere he told Jesse he wanted to ride the bike. Jesse’s dad, Mike, has been in town for a couple of days on his own motorcycle trip and of course, they were in the garage working on Jesse’s bike. I walked outside to find my little man riding around the circle on his very own Harley Davidson. It was quite a sight to see three generations of Ribble’s and their Harley Davidson’s sitting in and around my garage. This was a memory and a moment I will never forget. Now, if this isn’t Harley Love, I don’t know what is!!!

CHEESE!

CHEESE!

Other Adventures…involving my baby girl! Don’t worry, I spend as much time with her and as she is growing faster and faster I realize how quickly the time flies. I’m not sure why, but with the second child, time seems to go much faster. I think probably the fact that there isn’t as much anticipation or just that you are more laid back by the time the second one gets here plays into the time factor a lot.

My sweet baby cakes!

My sweet baby cakes!

I was always so worried about having a daughter…too much drama, too expensive, and I personally, am not that “girly.” (Just ask my sisters)! Anyway, I can’t even begin to imagine my life without her. We already have this connection that is like none other. My mom has always said that your relationships with your daughters are so much different from your relationships with your sons…now I know what she meant. Ainsley and I can literally talk for hours. We make noises to each other, laugh, coo, and all those other silly things. I swear I’m not exaggerating when I say she totally lights up when I enter her room. She knows my voice better than anyone else’s and lately, we have been taking afternoon naps together. I cherish these moments deeply. We snuggle up side by side and because she is starting to reach for things…she reaches out for my face and usually falls asleep with her little, tiny hands on my face. I love her sweet little smell and her laugh is the best sound on the planet. It’s amazing how you don’t have to split your love for your children, but that somehow your heart just grows to fit more in. She is so close to rolling over and I imagine here in just a short time we won’t be able to lay her on the couch or the bed without constant vigilance.  

I put her in the big bathtub for the first time the other day and she was in Heaven. Both of my kids have loved the water and true to form, she splashed around until the water was cold. She was kicking her legs, waving her arms, and making a ton of noise. By the time I took her out, she had a big red spot on the back of her head from all the movement. As I sat there watching my baby girl, I couldn’t help but think of the day when she will become a mom and have these same moments with her own children.

In the big bathtub!

In the big bathtub!

As each day passes, I find I want to hang on to these moments forever. Jesse and I were having the discussion the other day about does it get easier as your kids get older to let them go? My heart aches when I am away from my babies and I hope it does get easier because I’m sure I will drive them crazy at some  point!

 

4 Responses to “Harley Love and Other Adventures”

  1. Christine Says:

    I am so proud of Atticus! I can’t wait to see him ride it! I guess it just took time to get used to the idea! Hopefully Jesse’s bike is working better! I guess you succeeded in keeping Mike here longer. 🙂

  2. Eli Says:

    Can’t help but notice the failure to mention the brothers who also have bikes. I guess it’s because we’re not members of the cult of Harley. Sad. Disowning family for their bike choice. Good thing Atticus chose the true path in life. If he didn’t, I guess he could have moved in with the heathenous Japanese-make family… 🙂

    • jjribble Says:

      Ha, Ha, we would never disown you because of your inferior bike choice! Just kidding. I’m glad to see someone else labels themselves as the heathens in the family, I thought that was our title! Well, if Atticus ever falls from the path and decides to buy Japanese, he has a place to live…right?

  3. Dana Says:

    Life at your house sounds very fun and full of good times. Atticus looks so cute on his bike with his cheesey grin. Pure happiness… I love the picture of Ainsley in the tub and the fact you covered her with a wash cloth (I would have done the same thing) She is a so cute and so round! Enjoy those naps together they sound precious.


Leave a Reply

